Western Dakota Tech Learn. Do. Now.

Visit Us Request Info Chat Online

Board of Directors

Foundation Members

Chair Karen E. Pearson
1154 Woodridge Dr.
Rapid City, SD 57701
Home: (605) 343-2169
Cell: (605) 877-5955 
Second Term Expires: 6/20

Vice Chair Shawn Gab
Tri-Tech Manufacturing
333 Turbine Drive
Rapid City, SD 57703
Work (605) 721-9780
Cell (605) 390-0645 
Second Term Expires: 6/20
Secretary Gloria J. Pluimer
Black Hills Special Services
217 Flintlock Circle
Spearfish, SD 57783
Work: (605) 394-5120
Cell: (605) 641-3108 
Second Term Expires: 6/20
Treasurer Dick Johnson
West River Electric
P.O. Box 412
Wall, SD 57790
Cell (605) 685-5345 
Second Term Expires: 6/19
Member, Past Chair Scott Barbour
Northwest Pipe Fittings
P.O. Box 920
Rapid City, SD 57709
Work (605) 342-5587
Cell (605) 381-7206 
Second Term Expires: 6/19
Member Terri Haverly
Rapid City Economic Development
525 University Loop, Suite 101
Rapid City, SD 57701
Work (605) 716-0003
Cell (605) 390-4616 
Second Term Expires: 6/19
Member Jon Gillam
Eddie’s Truck Center
1002 E. Omaha
Rapid City, SD 57701
Work: (605) 348-4900
Cell: (605) 939-9738 
Second Term Expires: 6/19
Member Jennifer Baloun
Bank West
311 Omaha St.
Rapid City, SD 57701
Work (605) 399-4264 
First Term Expires 6/21
Member Tony Chipkewich
Black Hills Energy
7001 Mt. Rushmore Road
Rapid City, SD 57702
Cell (605) 593-1939 
First Term Expires 6/21
Member Jennifer Irving
Thunder Valley CDC
209 Empowerment Drive
Porcupine, SD, 57772

(work) 605-455-2700
(cell) 605-786-3568
First Term Expires 6/21

Member Tresha Moreland
Rapid City Regional Hospital
PO Box 6000
Rapid City, SD, 57709

(work) 605-755-2252
First Term Expires 6/21

Ex Officio Members

Western Dakota Tech President Dr. Ann Bolman Work (605) 718-2406
RCAS Superintendent Dr. Lori J. Simon Work (605) 394-4031
Western Dakota Tech Foundation Director Danita Simons Work (605) 718-2436 
RCAS Board Member Mike Roesler Home (605)-343-7299
RCAS Board Member

Christine Stephenson

RCAS Board Member

Curt Pochardt

Committees and Membership

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer of the Foundation Board. This Committee exists to discuss membership of the Western Dakota Tech Foundation and look for strategic prospective members in the community.

Chair- Karen Pearson; Vice-Chair – Shawn Gab; Treasurer – Dick Johnson; Secretary – Gloria Pluimer, Foundation Director – Danita Simons

Executive Planning Committee

The Strategic Planning Committee consists of the Chair and two additional board members, meeting monthly with the Western Dakota Tech President, the Dean of Accreditation and Advancement, and the Foundation Development Director.  The purpose of this committee is for the Board members and School Administration in strategy and communication regarding the vision of Western Dakota Tech, the fundraising needs of the college, fundraising strategy, roles and responsibilities of the college, the foundation, and the foundation board.

Chair – Karen Pearson, Dick Johnson, Scott Barbour, Jon Gillam, Gloria Pluimer, Dr. Ann Bolman, Danita Simons

Finance Committee

The finance committee will consist of the Treasurer who will act as the Chair of this committee, the Chair of the Foundation board, and at least two other board members. This committee will prepare and review an annual budget, as well as review monthly profit and loss statements. Oversight of the financial records, as well as management of the current accounts and scholarships in place with the Foundation. This committee meets monthly, the 2nd Tuesday of each month.

Chair – Dick Johnson, Scott Barbour, Shawn Gab, Jon Gillam, Danita Simons

Networking & Special Events Committee

The networking & special events committee consists of at least 3 board members. This committee meets together monthly to discuss special events to be hosted by the foundation or board members, for the purpose of bringing awareness to Western Dakota Tech, bringing awareness in the community of the Foundation, and/or for the purpose of raising funds.  This committee also works together to come up with strategic members of the community that the Foundation Director should meet with, either one-on-one or invite to one of our events.

Chair – Gloria Pluimer, Jon Gillam, Shawn Gab, Danita Simons, Terri Haverly

Membership & Nominating Committee

One Board Member designated as Chair and other members designated as needed to review Board membership and recommend, recruit and present nominations to the Board to fill vacancies and/or expand the board. The Committee will also bring forth a slate of Officers each January for nomination. Nominations from the floor will also be accepted. Elections will take place as first order of business at the April meeting.

Chair – Shawn Gab, Jon Gillam, Karen Pearson, Danita Simons

Join the Conversation

Connect with Western Dakota Tech

Website Powered By PageFramer, Development By Robert Sharp & Associates